Segment 9: When a Third World Came West

  I looked out my window trying not to stare at Sam and watched things I didn’t really care to see, like some trash dumps near a gravelly road and a torn up fence, and some tiny houses with car ports filled with ripped black trash bags and beaten up old cars.  About ten minutes later the driver asked something that I couldn’t hear under his grovelly breath and I thought I heard “Where to”.  I checked out the lake out my window, making out old benches and leaning palm fronses from the trees hanging all darkened near the edge.  I looked all around out through the windshield at passing restaurants, bikers, closed dark stores for something that would jog my memory since Sam looked restless, checking out all sides of the cab, out all the windows, looking behind him at cars and people.  It felt like the driver was driving in circles and I kept watching the meter go up and up so at considering the lake a good distance from anything, I looked at Sam and then asked the guy to drop us off somewhere near a parking lot by the water.  I paid him one of the last twenties I had, got out, felt a wet stain on the back of my dress where I must have sat in beer spilled on the stool back from the Red Velvet, waited for Sam to crawl out my side from my door and asked him if he’d wait with me awhile until I got hold of my friends (Robbie).  “Sure, why not.” He said. Agreeable.  He was still acting like this whole thing was just a chain of events, the flow of the natural things to do tongith.  Where was he from? We got out and I walked towards the edge of the lake feeling like there were lights on all around us, pulld out a cigarete from my purse, and puffed up towards the blaring lights that were lit from the basketball arena from across the interstate and from the several orange ones that followed around the cement walkway that went around all the water.  I began to feel that whatever form of ecstasy I had taken at the bar had not hit me in the slightest like Bobby’s stuff did.  I was disappointed about spending, dropping forty dollars for it. I turned and saw Sam kicking stones or lose roots of the tree next to us, popping out from dried grass, from lack of rain, and dialed up Robbie on my flip phone.  My sandals were wet from the water that was seeping through the sand near where I walked and I slipped them off and kept my feet in the marsh while I waited for someone to pick up on the other end of the dialtone.  I reached no one and walked towards Sam.  He grabbed me, kissed me, shoved his tongue in my throat and I knew, felt, that I would be raped.  Except he stopped after a minute, reaching in to grab some of cigarettes out of his front pockets,  he lit one with a lighter, and walked along unaffected, as he had before.  I picked up my phone from out of my purse and flipped it open, scrolling down to Robbie’s cell number again.    He answered after about three rings, yelling at a person who was driving with him (it sounded like a girl) about leaning their seats back because he had an area light in his backseat that he needed to replace in his office tomorrow.  “What!” He screamed into the phone.  I knew he would be testy.  I hung up the phone and looked at Sam thinking up something to say when Robbie called back.  He called back and I said, “I couldn’t find you anywhere.  I was all alone in the bar. I didn’t know where you guys went.  Where are you?”

Leave a Reply

